Site and Machinery

Over many years significant knowledge, equipment, utilities and logistics infrastructure have been built up at the site in Bergsich Gladbach, which is located less than half an hour from Cologne city center. High environmental standards were met at all times, setting new standards for the industry in this area as well.


The heart of the facility is the paper production equipment and the modern logistics systems – including a logistics center just south of the main site – for moving product to and from the area. With a total capacity of 325,000 t/a this is one of the leading paper-making plants in Germany and has extensive test and development capabilities. Also noteworthy are the power plant on the site, which provides the required energy directly on site, as well as the autonomous water supply and its own wastewater treatment plant.

Technical capabilities

  • Total capacity paper production 325,000 to/a 
  • Paper machine PM2: width 3.20 m, grammage range 80-350 gsm 
  • Paper machine PM3: width 6.60 m, grammage range 35-160 gsm 
  • Coater C3: 225.000 to annual capacity 
  • 7 Chromolux coaters (cast coaters) 
  • 5 reel slitting machines 
  • 8 sheeting machines 
  • 1 small format sheeting line 
  • 1 packing line for reels 
  • 2 packing lines for sheets 
  • Onsite power station 
  • Onsite water supply and water treatment plant 

Logistics

  • Own logistics center: mother reel stock (800 towers, storing capacity approx. 14,000 tons, handling capacity max. 60 reels/hour); warehouse for finished goods; logistic centre and warehouse (34,368 pallets in high rack storage and 2,500 block storage places, handling capacity 400,000 pallets/year) 
  • Two highways (A4, A3) close-by 
  • Two international airports (Cologne, Dusseldorf) close-by 
  • Cologne Ports (one of the largest operators for inland ports in Germany) close-by

Werk und Maschinenpark

Über Jahrhunderte wurden am Standort in Bergisch Gladbach umfassendes Know-how sowie eine einmalige technische und logistische Infrastruktur aufgebaut. Dabei wurden jederzeit hohe Umweltstandards erfüllt und damit auch in diesem Bereich neue Maßstäbe für die Branche gesetzt.


Das Herz des Werkes bilden die Papier-Produktionsanlagen und die moderne Logistik, die dank des Logistikzentrums südlich des Hauptgeländes für einen reibungslosen An- und Abtransport von Gütern jeder Art sorgt. Mit einer Gesamtkapazität von 325.000 Jahrestonnen gehörenden die Produktionsanlagen zu den größten in Deutschland und verfügen über beträchtliche Potenziale für Produkttests und -entwicklung. Hervorzuheben sind außerdem das Kraftwerk auf dem Gelände, das direkt vor Ort die benötigte Energie bereitstellt, sowie die autonome Wasserversorgung und die eigene Kläranlage.

Maschinenpark

  • Gesamtkapazität Papiererzeugung 325.000 to/a 
  • Papiermaschine PM2: Breite 3,20 m, Flächengewichte 80-350 g/m² 
  • Papiermaschine PM3: Breite 6,60 m, Flächengewichte 35-160 g/m² 
  • Streichmaschine C3: 225.000 to Jahreskapazität 
  • 7 Chromolux-Streichmaschinen (Gussbeschichter) 
  • 5 Rollenschneidemaschinen 
  • 8 Bogenschneidemaschinen 
  • 1 Kleinformatschneidanlage 
  • 1 Verpackungslinie für Rollen 
  • 2 Verpackungslinien für Bogen 
  • Eigenes Kraftwerk 
  • Eigene Wasserversorgung und Wasseraufbereitung 

Logistik

  • Eigenes Logistikzentrum: Mutterrollenlager (800 Türme, Lagerkapazität ca. 14.000 Tonnen, Umschlagleistung max. 60 Rollen / Stunde); Lager für Fertigwaren; Logistikzentrum und Lager (34.368 Paletten im Hochregallager und 2.500 Blocklagerplätze, Umschlagkapazität 400.000 Paletten/Jahr) 
  • Zwei Autobahnen (A4, A3) in der Nähe 
  • Zwei internationale Flughäfen (Köln, Düsseldorf) in der Nähe 
  • Köln Häfen (einer der größten deutschen Binnenhäfenbetreiber) in der Nähe