Zan­ders GmbH brings ex­per­tise and in­no­va­tion to the man­u­fac­ture of high qual­ity spe­cial­ity pa­pers and boards, de­vel­oped es­pe­cially for ap­pli­ca­tions that in­clude la­bels, pack­ag­ing and graph­ics

Our tradition – the highest quality

Founded by Johann Wilhelm Zanders in Bergisch Gladbach, Germany, in 1829, the company still operates the Gohrsmühle paper mill there today with around 500 employees. The premium Chromolux brand introduced in 1958 – one of the world's leading brands of paper – as well as Zanlabel brand label papers, introduced in 2014, form part of its range of products.  

Our history

The Zanders paper mill remained in the hands of the Zanders family for around 150 years. Constantly growing, Zanders expanded its production at the Gohrsmühle mill into art paper in 1895 and introduced Chromolux in 1958. Following its listing on the stock exchange in 1980, Zanders AG was acquired by the Finnish fresh forest fibre paper and board manufacturer Metsä Board (formerly M-real) in 2001, and renamed Metsä Board Zanders GmbH in 2012. In May 2015, Munich-based holding company mutares AG acquired the company, which once again produces its high quality grades of paper under the name of Zanders GmbH.   

The new look heralds Zanders’ move to expand in a wider global market, offering its expertise in high quality speciality paper and board for labels, packaging and graphical applications to brand owners, packaging manufacturers and printers. Zanders exclusively uses raw materials from sustainably cultivated forestry operations and therefore fulfills the FSC requirements. Zanders provides specialised solutions for a wide variety of segments while consistently maintaining the highest quality in terms of technical characteristics and finishing options, as well as product safety. It meets the requirements of manufacturers of beverages, including spirits, sparkling wine, wine, water and beer; grocery and luxury food products; tobacco products, as well as pharmaceuticals and cosmetics. Its potential end-uses range from high-end to standard products, including specialised segments such as individual craft beer breweries.

Die Zanders GmbH hat eine sehr lange Papiermachertradition und ist ein wichtiger Produzent von hochwertigen Spezialpapieren und -kartons für Etiketten, Verpackungen und grafische Anwendungen

Unsere Tradition – höchste Qualität

1829 durch Johann Wilhelm Zanders in Bergisch Gladbach, Deutschland, gegründet, betreibt das Unternehmen dort noch heute die Papierfabrik Gohrsmühle mit rund 500 Mitarbeitern. Zu seinem Produktsortiment gehört die 1958 eingeführte Premiummarke Chromolux – eine der weltweit führenden Papiermarken – sowie die 2014 eingeführten Etikettenpapiere der Marke Zanlabel. 

Traditionsreiche Geschichte

Die Papierfabrik Zanders blieb rund 150 Jahre lang in der Hand der Gründerfamilie Zanders. Stetig wachsend erweiterte Zanders seine Produktion in der Gohrsmühle 1895 zunächst um Kunstdruckpapier und führte 1958 Chromolux ein, eine der inzwischen weltweit führenden Papiermarken. Nach seinem Börsengang 1980 wurde die Zanders AG 2001 durch den finnischen Frischfaserkartonhersteller M-real übernommen und 2012 nach dessen Umfirmierung zu Metsä Board in Metsä Board Zanders GmbH umbenannt. Im Mai 2015 erwarb die Beteiligungsgesellschaft mutares AG, München, das mittelständische Unternehmen, das seine hochwertigen Papierqualitäten nun wieder unter dem Namen Zanders GmbH produziert.  

Expertise und Produkte für jedes Segment

Seine kontinuierlich gewachsene Expertise für hochwertige Spezialpapiere und ‑kartons für Etiketten, Verpackungen und grafische Anwendungen möchte Zanders künftig noch aktiver den Konsumgüter- und Verpackungsherstellern sowie Druckern im Ausland zur Verfügung stellen. Für seine Produkte verwendet Zanders ausschließlich Rohstoffe aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Forstbetrieben und erfüllt damit die Anforderungen des FSC. Bei beständig höchster Qualität hinsichtlich technischer Eigenschaften und Veredelungsmöglichkeiten sowie bei höchster Sicherheit bietet das Unternehmen spezialisierte Lösungen für die unterschiedlichsten Segmente an. Damit bedient Zanders die Wünsche und Ansprüche der Hersteller von Getränken wie Bier, Sekt, Wein, Wasser oder Spirituosen, Lebens- und Genussmitteln, Tabakwaren, Pharma- und Kosmetikprodukten – von High-End- über Standard- bis hin zu speziellen Segmenten wie beispielsweise individuellen Craft-Beer-Brauereien.